The world’s first G8 dementia summit was held in 2013 in London, where the international community of top scientists in the field, research funders, pharmaceutical companies and governments committed to accelerate the research agenda and deliver the first disease-modifying treatment by 2025. Since then the field has made considerable advances and there has been a significant increase in funding in the field of dementia research. This has been instrumental in fostering global collaborations and driving cutting-edge technological developments, including the use of big data, to understand the biology of dementia and develop potential therapeutics and treatments.

This workshop will look at advances in care, and will be chaired by Professor Brian Lawlor, professor of old age psychiatry at Trinity College Dublin, and deputy executive director of the Global Brain Health Institute, and Paul Hogan, co-founder and chairman of Home Instead Senior Care, and a member of the World Dementia Council. 

It will cover three themes that we have selected based on their importance in the field: models of care, burden of caregivers, and art and music in dementia.

 

Friday 5 February 2021
Virtual meeting
08:00 CST Chicago | 09:00 EST New York | 14:00 GMT London | 15:00 CET Central Europe | 19:30 IST New Delhi | 23:00 JST Tokyo

 

Divider

Co-chairs

BrianProfessor Brian Lawlor

Brian Lawlor is a professor of old age psychiatry at Trinity College Dublin, and deputy executive director of the Global Brain Health Institute. He is a geriatric psychiatrist with an interest in dementia, late-life depression, loneliness and brain health. Brian has worked for over 30 years on developing services and delivering care to people with dementia. His research interests range from early detection and prevention to evaluating new treatments for dementia. Brian also works with different stakeholders, agencies and research groups to understand the determinants of caregiver burden, particularly the impact of loneliness and behavioural and psychological symptoms, with the aim of developing strategies and policies to improve the wellbeing and quality of life of informal caregivers of people with dementia.

PaulPaul Hogan

Paul Hogan is chairman of Home Instead Senior Care® and a member of the World Dementia Council. He co-founded Home Instead with his wife Lori in 1994, and today the franchise network is the world's leading provider of home care services for seniors. It has more than 1,100 independently owned and operated offices that provide more than 60 million hours of care annually across 12 countries on four continents. In addition to his work with the World Dementia Council, Paul serves on the board of governors for the Global Health and Healthcare Partnership Community at the World Economic Forum and has previously served as the vice chair for the Global Agenda Council on Ageing.

 

Divider

Other events in the series

To inform the dementia landscape report, the Council is hosting two other virtual workshops for international dementia leaders focusing on key themes that were identified at the London dementia summit in 2013. In addition, the Council will host smaller roundtables that will focus on key themes and new policy priorities that we have agreed to highlight in the report. These themes include data sharing, technology in the health and social care sector, and the impact of dementia on low- and middle-income countries. See more below.

  • Workshop: Research

    Wednesday 18 November 2020

    Divider

    Co-chaired by Dr Maria Carrillo and Professor Philip Scheltens, this workshop covered two themes selected based on their importance in the field: early detection and biomarkers; and advances in treatment. Speakers included Professor Oskar Hansson, Dr Cath Mummery, Dr Eric Siemers and Professor Reisa Sperling.

  • Workshop: Prevention

    Tuesday 9 February 2021

    Divider

    Co-chaired by Professor Kaarin Anstey and Professor Philippe Amouyel, this workshop will examine the evidence base for dementia prevention programmes and some of the current research happening in the field, prevention programmes and their practical implementation, as well as some of the lessons from other public health initiatives. Speakers include Professor Carol Brayne, Dr Michele Cecchini and Dr Yoshiki Niimi.