A global dialogue on dementia and health systems will gather international leaders to discuss this area of focus as part of the dementia landscape project. This dialogue will be led by Dr Margaret Hamburg, former Commissioner of the US Food and Drug Administration and member of the World Dementia Council, and Professor Howard Bergman, Professor of Family Medicine, Medicine (Geriatrics), and Oncology at McGill University.

Wednesday 7 July 2021
08:00 PDT San Francisco | 10:00 CDT Chicago | 11:00 EDT New York | 16:00 BST London | 17:00 CEST Central Europe
Virtual meeting

Divider

Chairs

MargaretDr Margaret Hamburg

Dr Margaret (Peggy) A. Hamburg is an internationally recognised leader in public health and medicine. She is the former Commissioner of the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA), having stepped down from that role in April 2015 after almost six years of service. Peggy Hamburg is Chair of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and is an elected member of the Council on Foreign Relations and the National Academy of Sciences, where she serves as Foreign Secretary. She currently sits on the board of the Commonwealth Fund, the Simons Foundation, the Urban Institute and the American Museum of Natural History. She is also a member of the Harvard University Global Advisory Council and the Scientific Advisory Committee for the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation.

MargaretProfessor Howard Bergman

Dr Howard Bergman is Professor of Family Medicine, Medicine (Geriatrics), and Oncology, and Assistant Dean, International Affairs, Faculty of Medicine, McGill University. In 2009, at the request of the Quebec Minister of Health, he authored the Quebec Alzheimer Plan and is presently working with the Quebec ministry of health and social services on its implementation. He co-created and co-leads with Professor Isabelle Vedel, the Canadian team for healthcare services/system improvement in dementia care (ROSA research team). In 2018-19, he chaired the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences Panel of 6 experts for the Assessment of Evidence and Best Practices for the development of a Canadian Dementia Strategy, assembled at the request of Public Health Agency of Canada.

Divider

Other dialogues in the series

To inform the dementia landscape report, the Council has hosted global dialogues for international dementia leaders focusing on key themes of research, care and prevention that were identified at the London dementia summit in 2013, as well as on additional key themes and new policy priorities that we have agreed to highlight in the report, including data sharing and dementia registries, and the impact of dementia on low- and middle-income countries. See more below.

  • Global dialogue on dementia and an ageing society

     Wednesday 30 June 2021

    Divider

    A global dialogue on dementia and an ageing society will take place on 30 June 2021 and co-chaired by Professor Shekhar Saxena, Professor of the Practice of Global Mental Health at Harvard and a member of the World Dementia Council, and Sarah Lock, Senior Vice President for Policy at AARP.

  • Global dialogue on data sharing for dementia research

    Wednesday 9 June 2021

    Divider

    Co-chaired by Dr Lara Mangravite and Dr Tetsu Maruyama, this global dialogue explored advances made and the challenges that remain in data sharing for dementia research. Presentations were given on introductory themes by Alzheimer Europe's Dr Angela Bradshaw, HRD UK's Professor Andrew Morris, and the NIA's Dr Suzana Petanceska.